(Click on the pic to buy it)
Another great dvd by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers.

Jazz Icons: Art Blakey boasts an exceptional one-hour concert by Art Blakey from Paris in 1965. This performance showcases one of the few undocumented Blakey bands, the New Jazzmen, featuring the incomparable Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, as well as Jaki Byard on piano, Reggie Workman on bass, Nathan Davis on sax and, of course, Art Blakey on drums—truly a powerhouse quintet!
Freddie Hubbard’s incendiary playing on “Blue Moon” and the blistering 24-minute version of his own “Crisis,” serves as a cogent reminder that he was one of the most innovative trumpeters in jazz history.

The Hub 
Blue Moon 
NY Theme

20-page booklet
Liner notes by Michael Cuscuna
Photos by Chuck Stewart, Lee Tanner, Francis Wolff, Raymond Ross
Memorabilia collage
Total time: 60 minutes

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario