Upcoming Album

'Pathways' is the debut recording of Dave Holland's octet. It is based on his regular quintet with three added horns.

As Dave Holland writes:

'I had always loved the sound of the Duke Ellington small groups, often with a 5 horn front-line plus the rhythm section. The combination of 2 brass and 3 saxes gives access to a wide range of textures and colors and allows a composer to evoke the sound of a big band or create the more intimate sound of a small group.

I also wanted a project that would include at its core my regular working quintet (Robin Eubanks, Steve Nelson, Chris Potter, and Nate Smith) and build the music around what we had already developed as a small group. The additional horns gave me some different compositional options but equally important, the personal sound, style and creative approaches of Antonio Hart (alto), Gary Smulyan (baritone) and Alex Sipiagin (trumpet) add a great deal to the creative mix.' 

The band is thus: Dave Holland (bass), Chris Potter (tenor, soprano sax), Antonio Hart (alto sax), Gary Smulyan (baritone), Alex Sipigian (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Steve Nelson (vibes, marimba), Nate Smith (drums).

The album was recorded live at Birdland, NY in 2009.

Dave Holland's writing is the main feature: 

'I often revisit compositions I have recorded at different stages in my career. Over the years, one of the things that has changed is my approach to playing them. Writing the song is just a starting point and after that the improvisor develops different ways of interpreting it. There are some compositions that seem to remain relevant and that continue to evolve.'

'Shadow Dance' harks back to Dave Holland's first album, '
Jumpin' In' while 'How's Never' is from the Gateway trio era with Jack DeJohnette and John Abercrombie. As with the remaining Dave Holland compositions, the expanded sound palette of the eight-piece band is used to great effect

This title will be released on March 23, 2010.

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario